Bohol History

By Ronnie Hoyle

1.       Bohol consists of the main island plus 72 associated smaller islands, which are mainly to the north, and was originally called Bo-ol by its native inhabitants.

2.       The main town on Bohol when the Spanish arrived was actually Bo-ol, near Dauis, and not Tagbilaran itself, because it was in a more protected location.

3.       The best watchtower built to protect the island from invading pirates from Mindanao and Borneo at Punta Cruz, near Maribojoc, was constructed by the Spanish in 1796. Watchtowers on Panglao Island were built in1774 (Dauis) and 1851 (Panglao itself).

4.       Bohol is the tenth largest island in the Philippines and the province covers 4,079 square kilometres. It has 47 larger villages and towns, mostly around the perimeter.

5.       United States forces destroyed 20 of the then 35 towns of Bohol during 1901 by setting them ablaze in a bid to subdue rebels fighting against their new American colonisers.

6.       There are 1,109 barangays, or villages, on Bohol, each with its’ own fiesta or feast day, but there are also hundreds more barrios (or districts) with feasts each year as well.

7.       The highest award in the Philippines is the Sikatuna Peace Medal, named after Rajah Sikatuna of Bohol, who formed a blood compact with Spanish invaders on March 16, 1565.

8.       The largest manmade mangrove forest in the Far East is just off Jetafe in the north of Bohol and was begun by one local man.

9.       Panglao Island on Bohol is considered to be one of the world’s top ‘hotspots’ for the number of decapods and gastropods found in its’ locality.

10.    The oldest stone-built church on Bohol can be found at Baclayon and is said to have been ‘welded’ together with millions of egg whites from local chickens mixed in with the mortar!